Smart Move Inspections





imageedit_5_3949838586

Website Investments

Smart Move Inspections

Purchase Inspection - Home Inspector - Home Inspections - Inspect Home

Masonry Inspection - Termite Inspector - Inspect Chimney - Construction Inspections






The Inspector-general

RRP $18.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

The Inspector General, is a satirical play by the Russian and Ukrainian dramatist and novelist Nikolai Gogol. Originally published in 1836, the play was revised for an 1842 edition. Based upon an anecdote allegedly recounted to Gogol by Pushkin, the play is a comedy of errors, satirizing human greed, stupidity, and the extensive political corruption of Imperial Russia. The corrupt officials of a small Russian town, headed by the Mayor, react with terror to the news that an incognito inspector (the revizor) will soon be arriving in their town to investigate them. The flurry of activity to cover up their considerable misdeeds is interrupted by the report that a suspicious person has arrived two weeks previously from Saint Petersburg and is staying at the inn. That person, however, is not an inspector; it is Khlestakov, a foppish civil servant with a wild imagination. The dream-like scenes of the play, often mirroring each other, whirl in the endless vertigo of self-deception around the main character, Khlestakov, who personifies irresponsibility, light-mindedness, absence of measure. "He is full of meaningless movement and meaningless fermentation incarnate, on a foundation of placidly ambitious inferiority" (D.S. Mirsky). The publication of the play led to a great outcry in the reactionary press. It took the personal intervention of Tsar Nicholas I to have the play staged, with Mikhail Shchepkin taking the role of the Mayor.


Counting Chimneys

RRP $10.50

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Brighton 1969: Dottie Perks steps off the train and breathes in the sea air, the smell of fish and chips, and the precious childhood memories of a friend and place she'll never forget.

Dottie Perks has forged a new life for herself in London, a new job and sweet boyfriend Joe to keep her warm at night. She's safe, happy and loved. What more could she ask for?

But when Dottie returns home to Brighton for a family celebration, the last person she expects to see is her first love; the boy who stole her heart... and broke it. Ralph Bennett.

As old familiar feelings come rushing to the surface, Dottie struggles to deny the strong chemistry that still exists between them. She can't throw away everything to be with Ralph...can she? And if she does, how can they ever overcome the pain and tragedy of their shared past?

A beautiful, touching and heartbreaking story of love, loss and friendship. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Katie Flynn.

Discover how it all began...The Girls from See Saw Lane is available now.

'Counting Chimneys is an emotionally charged novel that had me so enthralled that I lost all track of time. It is full of hope, love and heartbreak with some amazing friendships that will warm the cockles of your heart.' By The Letter Book Reviews

'It's the perfect book to lose yourself in on a long, hot summer day. A gentle read, moving at times, and one that leaves you with a warm glow when you turn the final page. Cal Turner Reviews

'This book has all the right ingredients for the perfect reading treat: adorable characters, a page-turning storyline, and plenty of emotion. It's truly wonderful!' Louise Douglas

'It's heart-wrenching storyline will totally absorbed. Will totally capture your heart. Eagerly awaiting the next instalment.' Good Reads Reviewer

What readers are saying about The Girls from See Saw Lane:

'I loved this novel so much, even though it's probably the most heart-breaking story I've read all year...it will totally absorb you and capture your heart.' That Thing She Reads

'I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. It has all the ingredients for a perfect read: fantastic, loveable and very real characters, an emotional and compelling storyline, and a brilliant setting in time and place.' Louise Douglas

'Sandy Taylor has proven herself to be a very talented and gifted storyteller with an immense insight into family, friendship, love, and forgiveness...This is one of the most endearing, yet heart-breaking, novels that I have encountered in quite some time and will certainly not soon forget...Witty and humorous dialogue written with such ease truly brought this story to life and swept me away between the pages. Filled with unexpected twists and turns, you'll want to keep the box of tissues nearby!' Kimberly's Bookshelf

'I have just started to read this one and am hooked! I love the vivid details of the time period and the closeness of the best friends.' Weekend Reading



Search

Smart Move Inspections Articles

Purchase Inspection Home Inspector Home Inspections Inspect Home
Masonry Inspection Termite Inspector Inspect Chimney Construction Inspections
Estate Inspection Inspection Necessary Pest Inspection Termite Inspect

Smart Move Inspections Books

Purchase Inspection Home Inspector Home Inspections Inspect Home
Masonry Inspection Termite Inspector Inspect Chimney Construction Inspections
Estate Inspection Inspection Necessary Pest Inspection Termite Inspect

Smart Move Inspections





imageedit_5_3949838586

Website Investments